What is the Minimum Wage in Arizona?

Home - Attorneys & Law - What is the Minimum Wage in Arizona?

What is the Minimum Wage in Arizona?

Arizona’s minimum wage laws require employers to adjust their hourly wages every year to accommodate cost of living increases. Arizonans need to understand these laws so that they can recognize when and if they’re being underpaid. It happens more often than you might think.

Do you suspect that you’re not receiving the fair wages you’re entitled to? That’s against the law. An experienced employment lawyer from Matt Fendon Law Group can investigate your case to determine whether you have a legal claim. Call or contact us today for a detailed strategy session with a dedicated attorney.

Arizona Minimum Wage Laws

In 2016, Arizona voters approved the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, which established a new minimum wage. It also stated that there would be an increase in Arizona’s minimum wage every year on January 1. Some municipalities in Arizona have local ordinances that dictate higher minimum wages.

Minimum Wage Exceptions

Certain types of employees are exempt from the traditional minimum wage rules, including:

  • Workers employed by a parent or sibling
  • Babysitters who perform services in the employer’s home on a casual basis
  • Anyone employed by the Arizona government or federal government
  • Anyone employed by a small business with annual gross revenue less than $500,000 and exempt from paying under Section 206 of Title 29 of the U.S. Code
  • All workers who receive tips or gratuities

Read more about Workers’ Comp in this article: Does Workers’ Compensation Cover My Lost Wages?

Subminimum wage

Employers may pay tipped workers a maximum of $3 less than the standard minimum wage. However, an employer may only pay a subminimum wage to a tipped worker if they can document that the worker is paid at least the minimum wage per hour with tips and gratuities during the pay period.

What Can Happen to Employers That Fail to Comply with Wage Laws

If an employer in Arizona fails to pay a qualifying worker minimum wage, they may face a range of civil penalties. The employer could be fined for failing to comply with wage and hour laws, such as not paying minimum wage, unpaid overtime, or not displaying the state-mandated informational posters in the workplace.

Workers who are not paid the required minimum wage or overtime wages may file a civil lawsuit against their employer. Under Arizona’s employment laws, employees who successfully win a wage case may be entitled to three times their unpaid wages. Employees may also request an award of their legal fees and costs. In other words, qualifying workers can get what they’re owed and not have to pay a lawyer out of their pocket.

If you have more questions about Arizona’s minimum wage laws, call or contact Matt Fendon Law Group for your affordable case review.

Matt Fendon Law Group

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top